How To Select Products For Your eCommerce Store

How to Select Products For Your eCommerce Store

For many ecommerce beginners, the hardest aspect of starting out is deciding which products to sell online. There are many ways to determine the product that best suits the online market at any given time.

Some great ways to decide are to choose an industry, consider what the customer is looking for, appeal to people with hobbies, consider logistics and sell products you have an interest in. Keep reading to find out more about how to select products for your eCommerce store!

Choose an Industry

An individual counting the profits from their business

Take note of the profit margins in various industries. The goal of an ecommerce site is to sell goods and make money over time. Some products are going to bring in more revenue than others. This is a major consideration when wanting to make a profit through your ecommerce site. You want to sell items that are high in demand and are popular.

What The Customer Wants

An ecommerce store must choose and sell products that provide a new and better value, quality and performance to customers than what was available before. This can be done by keeping things simple and appealing to what the customer is going to find valuable.

You can find what’s trending just by doing a little research. For example, iPhones are much more popular than flip phones now-a-days. Therefore, you can enrich your sales by selling iPhone accessories and products. In doing so, you can allow your customers to make wishlists and favorites. This a great way to appeal to customers because they can make a list of trending products and refer to it without having to navigate the entire site when they return to your store.

Appeal to Hobbyists

When deciding which products to sell in your ecommerce store its helpful to appeal to hobbyists. Mainly because they will always want to purchase the products you are selling to maintain their hobby’s.

Hobbyists are ideal customers because they keep coming back for related products, and will often make purchases in bulk. To make sure you have what they need, it’s important to ensure you have efficient inventory control and management of your ecommerce products.


Logistics are important when choosing products to sell in your ecommerce store. You want to look at the supplies and materials needed to produce a product. Whether these can be sourced locally will determine how much money you’ll need to be spend sourcing them and shipping.

This will lead you to how to price products for your ecommerce store efficiently. Also, if a similar product is already sold locally in stores and buyers don’t have to wait for it to be shipped, this could negatively affect your sales.

Products You’re Passionate About

Having an affinity for the product and its industry will make it easier to sell. This is because you are naturally knowledgeable about the product and can understand the intent of the customer. Consider what you’re most passionate about—whether it’s food, clothing, computers, etc.—then pick a related product. Choosing a related product from your own interests help you to advertise and sell more than products you have little to no knowledge about.

Having an ecommerce store can be easy to launch but finding the best products to sell can take a bit more consideration. It’s imperative to put thought into the products you sell to generate sales and make a profit.

Want to find out more ways to make a profit with your ecommerce store?

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Building Outside Links To Your Store

In the business of eCommerce, backlinks are some of the best tools at your disposal. When other companies link out to your website (I.e. “backlink”), you can get a lot more traffic.

Backlinks are great for improving search engine optimization (SEO), but getting others to link out to your site is not always an easy task. 

Continue reading to learn more about backlinks, and how you can get more of them for your business.

What Are Backlinks

Backlinks Can Bring More Traffic In

Backlinks are links from another site back to your site. They serve many purposes, but mainly they grow the traffic on your site, build a larger audience and boost search engine rankings. Major search engines consider backlinks votes of confidence or “votes” for a specific page.  

This is great to expand your audience and appeal to people from all over, including new site visitors and bloggers. 

Why Are Backlinks Important 

Someone analyzing SEO breakdown of traffic to a website

Backlinks are especially valuable for Search Engine Optimization (SEO) because they represent a vote of confidence from one site to another. These “votes” from other websites tell search engines that your content is valuable and useful. 

Backlinks to your website are a signal to search engines that others find your content valuable. If many sites link to the same webpage or website, search engines can deduce that content is worth linking to, and therefore also worth surfacing on a search engines results page. The more votes you have, the higher your site will rank in major search engines.

How To Build Backlinks 

Man on his computer searching the web, close-up on his laptop and hands

Create Content People Can’t Get Elsewhere 

You want to get backlinks by creating strong content that others want to share. If web designers find your content valuable and useful, they might be inclined to link this information to their own sites. When people visit their sites, they have the option to click the backlink to navigate to your site. This is a great way for your site to get more traffic and appeal to a larger audience. 

It’s a great idea to review products and services you offer and come up with unique blog topics for your business. This will make backlinking to your site appealing to others 

Write Guest Posts 

You can also get backlinks by writing guest blog posts on websites relevant to your industry. When you write a post on someone else’s site, you are allowed to list information about your own business. This presents you with the chance to target a specific demographic in your target audience. 

Your first task is to decide what your goal for guest blogging is. Knowing this goal ahead of time is key in determining the right kind of blogs to submit guest posts to. Typically, there are three main goals for guest blogging. 

  1. Positioning yourself as an authority and well-known name in the industry. 
  2. Getting exposure (traffic) back to your website. 
  3. Building backlinks to your website (though this should never be the main focus, as Google frowns on this). 

With writing strong content on the top blogs, you can do all three of these things. 

Avoiding Spam  

Not all backlinks are created equal. At the back of SEO, there’s a thing called spam backlinks, which is basically a link to your page placed on an irrelevant website with some ill-fitted anchor text. 

While backlinks are effective for search engine optimization, you need to be careful with how you employ them. Some companies use tactics that can create many backlinks in a short period of time. This is a problem, because those links can appear on poorly optimized websites that have nothing to do with your business. These are known as spam backlinks. 

There are things you can do if your website has spammy backlinks by detecting all of the spam backlinks your website has, compiling and list of all toxic domains and reporting them to google or another major search engine. 

Looking for more ways to improve your websites search rank?
Logicblock partners with Google web tools to make SEO tracking and building easier. 

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The Benefits Of Using Google Ads For Your Ecommerce Store

Using Google Ads

Using google ads might be one of the best things you can do to expand your business. People use Google to search around 3 billion times a day. Each search offers opportunities for you to get your brand in front of more users. This yields to increasing leads, conversions, and sales. Google Ads allow you to advertise and promote your products and services when users search relevant keywords. When done right, it has the potential to turbo-charge leads and sales.

Keep reading to find out more about what google ads are and how they work.

The Benefits Of Using Google Ads For Your Ecommerce Store

There are many benefits to using google ads for your ecommerce store. Including:

  • Put your products and brand in the Google Shopping spotlight.
  • Your Google Shopping Ads will perform better than your text-based ads.
  • Get better qualified leads from Google Ads.
  • Google Shopping is a lot easier to manage.
  • Benefit from broader reach with Google Shopping Ads.

1. Variety Of Pricing Plans

When using google ads, the great benefit is that you can set a budget that works for your business because there are a variety of pricing plans available. The average cost-per-click on Google Ads is $1 to $2 for the Google Search Network and less than $1 for the Google Display Network. Depending on the client, industry, objectives, and locations targeted, google strategists recommend starting budgets that range from $1,000 to $10,000 per month. The better equipped you are to build and optimize Google Ads campaigns, the higher your starting budget should be.

2. Choose Your Reach

Someone looking at the breakdown of their global customer demographic

Decide where you want to advertise: local or global. You can choose the ad groups to which you’d like to add demographic categories by simply adding and targeting demographics you would like to reach using Google Ads. There is a great benefit to choosing the groups and demographics you would like to reach as this will optimize your business sales as it’s tailored to your specific needs.

3. Adjust Or Pause Service As Needed

You can adjust or pause your service at any time. You will never pay more than your cap that is set. This is as simple as logging into your Google Ads account and clicking the ads you want to pause. This is a great utility as each business has specific needs and budgets. This will enhance your business without breaching the realm of your financial limitations.

4. Gives Estimated Results Based On Budget

Google ads will estimate your results. You will pay only for results, like clicks to your website or calls to your business. You have the advantage to decide how much you want to spend, and google ads will show you the estimated results based on your advertising budget before you create your campaign.

5. Only Pay When People Take Action

The most amazing feature of google ads is that you only pay when people take action; like clicking your ad to visit your site or to call your business. The average cost-per-click on Google Ads is $1 to $2 for the Google Search Network and less than $1 for the Google Display Network. Average cost per action (CPA) is calculated by dividing the total cost of conversions by the total number of conversions.

For example, if your ad receives 2 conversions, one costing $2.00 and one costing $4.00, your average CPA for those conversions is $3.00. Google ads allows you to pay per action which is essential to budgeting for your business while using Google Ads. To set you up for success, Google Ads will provide reports and insights so you can track your ad’s performance and costs.

Logicblock partners with Google Web Tools including Google Ads to allow for easy integration into your Logicblock ecommerce site. With everything we do, we keep your end goals in mind, making it simple to set up your ecommerce store and track it (helping it to grow). Contact us today to learn more about our free trial!

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